🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Now Offers Higher Limits: What’s Changed? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get audio and creator gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI changed ChatGPT plan allowances on October 29, canceling a planned reduction for Pro 200 and doubling Work and Codex usage for Pro 100 and Pro 500. Business Premium also gets more usage, but OpenAI did not specify how much. Prices and several separate chat limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 and increased Work and Codex allowances on its Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans, according to release notes published October 29. The company also raised usage for Business Premium, though its official note gives no amount; prices did not change, and some separate ChatGPT limits remain the same.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work, used for longer or multi-step tasks, and Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent, draw on the same allowance. The change increases that shared pool rather than doubling every type of usage on the plans.
For Pro 200, priced at $200 a month, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Its updated help page explains that subscribers on the lower allowance get a doubling to match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. That means the change restores the higher allowance for affected customers rather than doubling it for every Pro 200 subscriber.
OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for a billing renewal. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one. The Plus plan is unchanged, and Ultrafast speed mode remains exclusive to Pro 500.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Limits Affect Subscribers
The change affects people whose work depends on sustained access to OpenAI’s longer-task and coding tools. A larger shared Work and Codex allowance may give Pro and Business Premium customers more room to use those products before reaching their plan limits. It does not, by itself, mean users can send twice as many messages in ChatGPT or complete twice as much work.
OpenAI’s help information says actual usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode. That distinction matters for customers comparing monthly plans: the announced increase applies to a defined allowance, not every feature or measure of activity. For organizations, higher seat usage may also affect how teams assign plans and manage budgets, though the source material does not provide a new Business Premium quota.
For Pro 200 customers, the immediate effect is different: the company reversed a previously announced reduction before it took effect. Customers who were already on the higher allowance do not get another doubling under the help-page description. The correction may also matter to people who chose or kept a plan based on the September notice.
Products Worth Considering

Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500W

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Performance Keyboard – Clicky

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (12th Generation, 2024), 32 GB, Metallic Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Reversal
The changes follow a month of adjustments to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement describes the company’s explanation at the time; the source material does not provide independent usage figures.
OpenAI reopened Pro 200 on September 29 and introduced Pro 500. In an email to customers that day, it said included usage allowances would change from October 30, while the monthly Pro 200 price would stay at $200. Sottiaux also described a plan scale in a post on X: “Plus = 1X, Pro 100 = 5X, Pro 200 = 10X,” and said some existing subscribers would keep a higher 20X multiplier for a time.
On October 29, one day before the planned reduction, OpenAI reversed the Pro 200 cut and announced higher allowances. The company’s release notes and updated help page give the most specific account of what changed. Sottiaux’s broader post said limits were being doubled across Pro tiers and Business Premium, but the help page clarifies that some limits, including Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, remain unchanged.
““We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state a multiplier or new allowance. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in his X post, but that claim is broader than the official note. The available material does not explain the size of the increase or provide a plan-by-plan quota table for Business Premium.
It is also not clear how much additional work an individual subscriber will be able to complete in practice. OpenAI says consumption varies by model, task and speed mode. The source material does not give usage examples or a conversion between the larger allowance and a set number of tasks, messages or coding sessions. Business Standard, Go and Free are not mentioned in the October 29 release notes, so no change to those plans is established here.
Check Plan Details and Usage
The new allowances are effective immediately, and existing subscribers are due to receive them automatically without waiting for renewal. Customers can check their account’s usage information and the updated Pro help page to see which allowance applies to their plan. The source material does not give a separate date for a later rollout.
For buyers deciding whether to move to a higher-priced plan, the relevant next step is to compare the specific allowance and limits shown for their tier, rather than treating “twice the usage” as a doubling of all ChatGPT activity. Businesses may also want to review seat assignments and keep plan usage separate from API budgets; the plan announcement does not describe any change to API pricing or limits.
Further clarification from OpenAI would be needed to quantify Business Premium’s increase and explain how the revised allowances translate into usage for different tasks. Until then, the published help page provides the clearest account of which Pro limits changed and which stayed the same.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans received higher allowances?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. It also says Business Premium usage increased, but its release note does not give a multiplier.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI’s help page says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; the change does not double that higher allowance again.
Did ChatGPT prices change?
No price change is reported in the October 29 announcement. The source lists Pro 100 at $100 a month, Pro 200 at $200, and Pro 500 at $500.
Did the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits change?
OpenAI says the weekly limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. On Pro 200, the lower weekly limit now matches the higher one.
Do subscribers need to take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for their next billing date.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
