🔍 Read the full analysis: What’s New From OpenAI Dev Day 2026? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get audio and creator gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI used its Sept. 29 DevDay to present ChatGPT as a platform for people and software agents, announcing more than 20 products and features. The announcements include persistent Dots, expanded plugins, a limited-preview Decisions API and computer use for the Agents API; access, pricing and rollout details vary by product.
OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features at its Sept. 29 DevDay, positioning ChatGPT as a shared platform for people and software agents. The announcements include persistent Dots, a broader plugin system and new developer APIs, extending the company’s push beyond chatbot interactions into tasks that can run across apps and services.
Dots are persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra, according to the source report. Each has a separate cloud computer and browser and can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins. OpenAI says users can reach Dots in ChatGPT on desktop, web and mobile, as well as Slack and Teams. Voice calls are available; texting is described as forthcoming.
Access depends on account and market. The report says Dots are available to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can use a beta when an administrator enables it; the feature is off by default. The first Dot is included in the plan. Chatting with it does not count toward usage limits, but tasks it starts in Codex or ChatGPT Work do.
OpenAI also expanded plugins, which can combine reusable skills, connections to outside services through MCP servers and optional user interfaces. Announced changes include ChatGPT sidebar extensions, interactive panels, a revised creator and submission process, improved discovery, Sites for shared use in some organizational plans, and support for MCP Events that can trigger automations. The report names 32 launch partners in an OpenAI Marketplace where eligible enterprise customers can spend part of their OpenAI commitment.
Two developer announcements focus on delegating software tasks. The Decisions API, in limited preview, uses GPT-6 Luna to choose from a finite set of answers defined by the developer, based on text or image context. The Agents API now supports computer use, allowing agents to operate software through its interface; OpenAI runs the Codex harness. The report also names GPT-6.1 Sol, described as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices, but gives no further comparison data in the material provided.
OpenAI DevDay 2026 at a glance
The five launches that matter, plus Sol
The rest of the slate
Collaboration
ChatGPT SpacelivePagesliveCollaborative slidesnext few weeksTeams and Team Taskslive@ChatGPT in Slack and TeamsliveMeetings pluginbeta, macOSShareable profilesliveCodex
Codex CloudliveCLI refreshvoice, /agentsCode ReviewliveCodex Security CloudlivePlans, enterprise, speed
Pro 500$500, 25× PlusUltrafastAstra now, Sol soonPrivate IntelligencePrivate Inference this fallBedrock Managed Agentsruns in AWSOpenAI Marketplace32 partners, applyAgents Reach Across Work Apps
The announcements could change how software companies reach customers and automate work. Dots are designed to keep projects moving in the background, while plugins provide a route to services and business data. OpenAI’s examples include monitoring customer feedback, updating sales proposals as requirements change and rerunning research analysis when new data arrives. These are company examples, not independent evidence of performance.
For developers, the plugin directory and recommendations may influence which services an agent selects when a user asks for an outcome. That gives discovery and permission design practical importance: users choose plugins and approve each one’s access, according to the report. The Decisions API could support bounded choices such as classifying content or routing requests, while computer use could let agents work with software that lacks a direct integration.
These capabilities also put attention on oversight. The report describes controls including custom rules, an activity view, monitoring that can pause or stop a Dot, and approval requirements for some actions. OpenAI warns that Dots can make mistakes. The degree to which these controls prevent errors in real business use remains to be established.
From ChatGPT to Agent Platform
The DevDay announcements frame ChatGPT as a surface for both human users and agents. OpenAI said the service reaches 1.2 billion weekly users, according to the source report. That figure is presented as the company’s stated reach; the material does not provide a measurement methodology or comparison period.
The announcements span consumer and organizational products. For enterprises, OpenAI is piloting specialist Dots with their own identities, credentials and IT-provisioned hardware in areas including procurement, invoice processing, customer support and commercial contracting. The company plans an integration with Microsoft Agent 365 for governance, according to the report. Separately, Sign in with ChatGPT will let users bring an existing plan to 16 launch partners, a setup that could support free core apps with paid upgrades.
The plugin changes also reach beyond ChatGPT. The report says plugins can be published to a shared directory and used across ChatGPT, Codex and Dots. Developer documentation reportedly includes conversion specifications for restaurant reservations, quote requests and product checkout, along with a guide for submitting a Claude Code plugin. These details suggest efforts to accommodate more types of integrations, though the source material does not specify how broadly those pathways will be supported.
Access, Pricing and Reliability
The source material does not provide a full rollout schedule for the announcements or list every eligible market. It also does not specify when the Decisions API will leave limited preview, or provide benchmarks supporting the GPT-6.1 Sol comparison with Astra. Details on future Dot add-ons, including the price of additional agents, speed or monthly output, are not given.
It remains unclear how Dots will perform across varied real-world tasks, how often human approval will be required, and how errors will be handled when an agent acts through connected services. OpenAI’s controls and its warning about mistakes are described, but the report contains no independent evaluation of their effectiveness. The source excerpt also ends while describing the Decisions API’s release plans, so it does not establish a date for broader availability.
Rollouts and Enterprise Pilots
Users in eligible Pro and Business Premium markets can access Dots now, while enterprise, education and healthcare access depends on an administrator enabling the beta. OpenAI’s next steps include running specialist Dot pilots and developing the planned Microsoft Agent 365 governance integration. The company has also described the Decisions API as being in limited preview. The timing for broader releases, additional markets and further model details has not been stated in the material provided.
Key Questions
What did OpenAI announce at DevDay 2026?
OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features, including Dots, plugin updates, the Decisions API, computer use for the Agents API and GPT-6.1 Sol.
Who can use Dots?
The source report says Dots are available to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can use a beta if an administrator enables it.
What does the Decisions API do?
It uses GPT-6 Luna to select from a finite list of answers a developer defines, using text or images as context. It is in limited preview.
Can Dots act without user oversight?
Dots can perform background tasks, but the report describes rules, activity monitoring and controls to pause or stop them. Some actions require approval, and OpenAI warns that Dots can make mistakes.
When will the new features be broadly available?
The source material gives access details for some products but no complete rollout calendar. It does not state when the Decisions API will become broadly available.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
