For a versatile wasp spray killer, I rank Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 17.5 oz as the best overall pick, with SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet Killer a strong option for shoppers prioritizing a professional-use formula. Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer stands out when foam coverage is the main need, while Spectracide Carpenter Bee & Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer is aimed at specific nesting sites. The main tradeoffs are spray format, can size, intended pest and nest location, along with whether you need one can or a multipack. Read on for a comparison of all 15 options and guidance on matching the product label to your situation.
Get audio and creator gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Formula and intended use matter more than pack size: the carpenter bee and ground-nesting yellowjacket product is more specialized than the lineup’s general wasp and hornet sprays.
- Foam is a distinct format, not an automatic upgrade: Raid Max Foaming and Spectracide’s foaming options may suit buyers seeking visible coverage, while standard aerosols offer a different application style.
- Can size varies across the lineup: listed sizes range from 10 to 20 ounces, so compare the amount per can as well as the number of cans.
- Multipacks fit repeat-use planning: options range from single cans to 12-packs, but a larger bundle only makes sense when storage, label directions and expected use support it.
- The ranking favors fit and clarity over quantity: general-purpose sprays lead for broad household needs, while the specialized and professional-use picks serve narrower priorities.
| Spectracide Carpenter Bee & Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foaming Aerosol 16 Ounces | ![]() | Best for Nest Holes and Tunnels | Brand: Spectracide | Volume: 16 ounces | Application: Carpenter bees and yellowjackets | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, 14 oz (Pack of 4) | ![]() | Best for Electrical Clearance | Brand: Raid | Can size: 14 ounces | Pack quantity: Title states 4; supplied unit-count spec states 2 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Spectracide Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol, 20-Ounce, 3-Pack | ![]() | Best for Longer Spray Reach | Brand: Spectracide | Can volume: 20 ounces | Pack size: 3-pack | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Hot Shot Wasp & Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray 14 Oz, 2 Pack | ![]() | Best for Siding-Sensitive Applications | Brand: Hot Shot | Can size: 14 ounces | Pack size: 2-pack | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Wondercide Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray – 10 oz – 2 Pack | ![]() | Best for Essential-Oil Preference | Brand: Wondercide | Can size: 10 ounces | Pack size: 2-pack | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 17.5 oz | ![]() | Best for Nest Reach | Brand: Raid | Unit count: 17.5 ounces | Liquid volume: 17.5 fluid ounces | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 14 oz | ![]() | Best for Electrical-Equipment Areas | Brand: Raid | Unit count: 14 ounces | Model number: SJN668006 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Spectracide Wasp & Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray 18.5 Oz, 12 Pack | ![]() | Best for Multiple Outdoor Nests | Brand: Spectracide | Pack count: 12 | Can size: 18.5 ounces | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, 18 Oz | ![]() | Best for Stated Residual Control | Brand: SpectracidePRO | Unit count: 1 | Liquid volume: 18 fluid ounces | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 16.5 oz | ![]() | Best for Foam-Based Nest Coverage | Brand: Raid Max | Volume: 16.5 ounces | Form: Foaming spray | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer, 14 Ounces, 3 Pack | ![]() | Best for Foamed Nest Treatment | Volume per can: 14 ounces | Pack count: 3 | Formula: Foaming, water-based | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer, Outdoor Flying Insect Spray, 14oz, 2 Count | ![]() | Best for Straightforward Outdoor Use | Brand: Raid | Pack contents: 2 cans | Volume per can: 14 ounces | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BASF PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticide, 14 oz | ![]() | Best for Multi-Pest Knockdown | Brand: BASF | Product: PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticide | Volume: 14 ounces | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 13 oz | ![]() | Best for Electrical-Equipment Proximity | Brand: Raid | Volume: 13 ounces | Maximum spray range: Up to 22 feet | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray 14 oz (Pack of 5) | ![]() | Best for Stocking Up on Foam | Brand: Raid | Volume per can: 14 ounces | Pack quantity: 5 cans | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| wasp spray killer | Brand | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Spectracide Carpenter Bee & Gr | Spectracide | Indoor and outdoor |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spra | Raid | Outdoor |
| Spectracide Wasp and Hornet Ki | Spectracide | Outdoor |
| Hot Shot Wasp & Hornet Killer | Hot Shot | Outdoor |
| Wondercide Wasp and Hornet Kil | Wondercide | Outdoor areas, including porches, patios, and decks |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug | Raid | Outdoor |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Sp | Raid | — |
| Spectracide Wasp & Hornet Kill | Spectracide | Outdoor |
| SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet K | SpectracidePRO | — |
| Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet | Raid Max | Outdoor |
| Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hor | — | — |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer | Raid | — |
| BASF PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticid | BASF | — |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Sp | Raid | — |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spra | Raid | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Spectracide Carpenter Bee & Ground-Nesting Yellowjacket Killer Foaming Aerosol 16 Ounces
This is the most specialized pick here: its expanding foam is designed to reach carpenter bee tunnels and ground-nesting yellowjacket holes, where a standard jet may not treat the nest directly. It also kills on contact and can help treat active nesting sites, making it more targeted than the Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, which is aimed at exposed outdoor nests and flying stinging insects. That specialty is also its limitation: this is not the most versatile choice for spraying a visible nest under an eave, and persistent activity may call for repeat treatment. The listing describes indoor and outdoor use, but careful placement matters to avoid unintended exposure. I’d choose it for a nest entrance or tunnel, not as an all-purpose wasp spray.
Pros:- Foam expands into carpenter bee tunnels and ground-nesting yellowjacket openings
- Kills target insects on contact
- Formulated for both carpenter bees and yellowjackets
- Can be used indoors and outdoors according to the supplied product data
Cons:- Its foaming format is less suited to exposed nests than a long-range jet spray
- Persistent infestations may require multiple treatments
- Careful application is needed to limit unintended exposure
Best for: Homeowners dealing with carpenter bee tunnels or yellowjackets nesting in ground holes who need foam to reach into the opening.
Not ideal for: Buyers treating exposed nests on eaves or looking for one spray for a broad range of flying-insect situations; a long-range jet aerosol is better suited to those jobs.
- Brand:Spectracide
- Volume:16 ounces
- Application:Carpenter bees and yellowjackets
- Use:Indoor and outdoor
- Item count:12
- Form:Foaming aerosol
Our verdict“Choose this targeted foam when the nest is inside a tunnel or ground opening, but pick a jet aerosol for exposed nests.”
Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, 14 oz (Pack of 4)
The standout here is the stated non-conductive rating up to 32,500 volts, a detail that may matter when an outdoor nest is near electrical equipment. Its spray reaches up to 22 feet and targets wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, and mud daubers, giving it broader stated coverage than the more specialized Spectracide carpenter bee foam. Compared with the Spectracide 20-ounce aerosol, though, its listed reach is shorter, so buyers prioritizing maximum distance may prefer that alternative. This Raid option is also labeled for outdoor use only, and its chemical active ingredients call for careful handling and following the product directions. The supplied pack details are inconsistent—its title says four cans, while the specs list two 14-ounce cans—so I would verify the package quantity before buying.
Pros:- Stated non-conductive up to 32,500 volts
- Spray reaches up to 22 feet
- Targets wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, and mud daubers
- Uses prallethrin and cypermethrin as active ingredients
Cons:- For outdoor use only
- Chemical insecticides require careful use and adherence to directions
- Pack quantity is inconsistent between the title and supplied specifications
Best for: People treating outdoor nests near electrical equipment who value the stated non-conductive rating and need coverage for several stinging-insect types.
Not ideal for: Indoor pest control or buyers who need a confirmed multi-can quantity or a spray reach longer than 22 feet.
- Brand:Raid
- Can size:14 ounces
- Pack quantity:Title states 4; supplied unit-count spec states 2
- Total volume:56 fluid ounces, as listed
- Spray distance:Up to 22 feet
- Target species:Wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, and mud daubers
- Active ingredients:Prallethrin and cypermethrin
- Use:Outdoor
Our verdict“Pick this Raid when its stated electrical non-conductivity matters more than the longer reach of the Spectracide 20-ounce spray.”
Spectracide Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol, 20-Ounce, 3-Pack
With a stated reach of up to 27 feet, this Spectracide aerosol is the distance-focused choice in this group. It is aimed at wasps and hornets and kills on contact, while the three-can pack gives buyers supplies for more than one treatment occasion. Its reach exceeds the 22 feet listed for Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, a meaningful difference when keeping space between the user and an outdoor nest is the priority. That doesn’t make it the right tool for every nest: unlike the Spectracide carpenter bee foam, it is not described as expanding into tunnels or ground openings. It is also specified for outdoor use only, and the product data cautions that a nest may need repeat applications. I’d rank it above general-purpose options for reach, not for nest-entry versatility.
Pros:- Jet spray reaches up to 27 feet
- Kills wasps and hornets on contact
- Three-can pack provides supplies for multiple occasions
- Longer stated reach than the Raid 14-ounce spray in this lineup
Cons:- For outdoor use only
- Not described as a foaming treatment for tunnels or ground openings
- Some nests may require repeat applications
Best for: Homeowners seeking a long-reach aerosol for outdoor wasp or hornet nests and wanting multiple cans available.
Not ideal for: People treating carpenter bee tunnels, ground-nesting openings, or indoor pest problems; a foam or a product labeled for that use is a closer fit.
- Brand:Spectracide
- Can volume:20 ounces
- Pack size:3-pack
- Spray distance:Up to 27 feet
- Target insects:Wasps and hornets
- Form:Aerosol spray
- Use:Outdoor
Our verdict“Choose this three-pack for outdoor wasp and hornet nests when its 27-foot stated reach is your main priority.”
Hot Shot Wasp & Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray 14 Oz, 2 Pack
Hot Shot pairs a 27-foot jet spray with a formula described as non-staining on most home siding when tested first. That makes it a practical option for people treating an outdoor nest near exterior walls, though the test-first caveat matters: the listing does not promise stain-free results on every surface. Compared with the Spectracide 20-ounce three-pack, Hot Shot offers the same stated spray distance but comes as two 14-ounce cans, so it provides less listed volume per can. Its target list extends beyond wasps and hornets to yellow jackets, scorpions, and tent caterpillars, although the supplied data does not give specific treatment directions for each. Like the Raid outdoor spray, it is not an indoor solution. I’d favor it when siding compatibility is part of the decision, not when maximum quantity is.
Pros:- Jet spray reaches up to 27 feet
- Kills listed target insects on contact
- Described as non-staining on most siding when tested beforehand
- Targets include wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, scorpions, and tent caterpillars
Cons:- Outdoor use only
- Siding should be tested first, and results may depend on the surface
- 14-ounce cans are smaller than the 20-ounce cans in the Spectracide three-pack
Best for: Homeowners treating outdoor nests close to siding who are willing to test a small area before spraying.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing indoor use, a larger can size, or an unconditional guarantee that spray will not mark a particular surface.
- Brand:Hot Shot
- Can size:14 ounces
- Pack size:2-pack
- Total liquid volume:28 fluid ounces
- Spray distance:Up to 27 feet
- Target insects:Wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, scorpions, and tent caterpillars
- Use:Outdoor
- Surface note:Non-staining on most siding when tested beforehand
- EPA specification:Met
Our verdict“Choose Hot Shot for outdoor nest treatment near siding if you can test the surface first and do not need indoor use.”
Wondercide Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray – 10 oz – 2 Pack
Wondercide is the lineup’s essential-oil-based option, using lemongrass and geraniol and offering quick contact kills and fast knockdown, according to the product description. It suits buyers who prefer that ingredient approach for outdoor spaces such as porches and decks, with the stated safety qualification that it is for use around children and pets when used as directed. The tradeoff is reach: its jet spray is listed at 15 feet, shorter than the 22-foot Raid spray and the 27-foot Spectracide and Hot Shot aerosols. The two 10-ounce cans also provide less volume per can than those alternatives. It remains an outdoor product, and the description flags a strong natural-oil scent and the need to avoid eye or skin contact. I’d choose it for ingredient preference, not maximum distance.
Pros:- Uses lemongrass and geraniol, according to the product description
- Provides quick contact kills and fast knockdown
- Listed for outdoor areas such as porches and decks
- Description states it is safe around kids and pets when used as directed
Cons:- 15-foot reach is shorter than the other listed jet sprays in this group
- Outdoor use only
- Natural oils may have a strong scent, and accidental eye or skin contact must be avoided
Best for: People treating a porch, patio, or deck who prefer an essential-oil formula and can work within a 15-foot spray reach.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need maximum distance, indoor use, or a low-scent formula; longer-reach options include the Spectracide and Hot Shot sprays.
- Brand:Wondercide
- Can size:10 ounces
- Pack size:2-pack
- Stated total unit count:20 ounces
- Spray distance:15 feet
- Active ingredients:Carbon and geraniol, as listed
- Target insects:Wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets
- Use:Outdoor areas, including porches, patios, and decks
Our verdict“Pick Wondercide if an essential-oil formula matters more to you than the longer reach offered by the conventional aerosol alternatives.”
Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 17.5 oz
I’d choose this Raid when the main challenge is reaching an outdoor nest without getting close: its 22-foot spray range matches the reach of the 14-ounce Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer, while this can contains 17.5 ounces. It is described as killing wasps and hornets on contact and having residual action, which may help address insects returning after treatment. Compared with SpectracidePRO’s stated four-week control, however, Raid does not provide a specific duration for its residual effect, so buyers seeking a defined protection period may prefer that alternative. The larger can offers more contents than the 14-ounce Raid, but it is still a chemical outdoor insecticide that calls for careful label-following and handling. I’d skip it for indoor pest control or situations where a clearly stated residual duration is a priority.
Pros:- Sprays up to 22 feet to help keep application distance from the nest.
- Kills wasps and hornets on contact.
- Residual action is described as helping eliminate returning pests.
- 17.5-ounce can holds more product than the 14-ounce Raid alternative in this roundup.
Cons:- Listed for outdoor use, so it does not suit indoor infestations.
- No duration is specified for the residual action.
- Chemical spray requires careful handling and label-directed use.
Best for: Homeowners treating an outdoor wasp or hornet nest who want 22-foot reach and more contents than the 14-ounce Raid can.
Not ideal for: People seeking indoor pest control or a product with a specifically stated residual-control duration.
- Brand:Raid
- Unit count:17.5 ounces
- Liquid volume:17.5 fluid ounces
- Item weight:1.2 pounds
- Target species:Insects
- Active ingredients:Prallethrin, cypermethrin
- Spray range:Up to 22 feet
- Use:Outdoor
Our verdict“Choose this Raid for outdoor nest treatment when 22-foot reach and a larger can matter more than a stated duration for residual control.”
Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 14 oz
This 14-ounce Raid has a useful distinction beyond nest reach: its description says the spray is electrically non-conducting up to 32,500 volts. That makes it a more fitting option than the 17.5-ounce Raid when an outdoor nest is near electrical equipment, though the label and application directions still govern where and how it can be used. It targets wasps, hornets, mud daubers, and yellow jackets, kills on contact, and sprays up to 22 feet; those traits put it close to the larger Raid can for reach and insect coverage. The tradeoff is less volume, and this listing does not specify residual control or a duration of protection like SpectracidePRO does. I’d pick it for the electrical specification, not simply as a larger-capacity choice.
Pros:- Described as electrically non-conducting up to 32,500 volts.
- Sprays up to 22 feet for distance from the nest.
- Targets wasps, hornets, mud daubers, and yellow jackets.
- Designed to kill on contact and eliminate entire nests.
Cons:- The 14-ounce size contains less product than the 17.5-ounce Raid.
- Specified for outdoor use rather than indoor pest control.
- No residual-control duration is provided in the product details.
Best for: Homeowners addressing an outdoor nest near electrical equipment who want a stated non-conducting specification and long-range spray.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a larger can, indoor use, or a stated period of residual protection.
- Brand:Raid
- Unit count:14 ounces
- Model number:SJN668006
- Part number:SJN668006
- UPC:046500013539
- Target pests:Wasps, hornets, mud daubers, yellow jackets
- Spray range:Up to 22 feet
- Electrical specification:Non-conducting up to 32,500 volts
Our verdict“Pick this 14-ounce Raid when its stated electrical non-conducting specification is the deciding factor for an outdoor application.”
Spectracide Wasp & Hornet Killer Aerosol Spray 18.5 Oz, 12 Pack
The defining reason to choose this Spectracide is the 12-pack: it suits property owners who expect to treat multiple outdoor nests or want cans available for repeat jobs. Each aerosol is listed at 18.5 ounces, and the jet reaches up to 27 feet, longer than the 22-foot reach listed for both Raid sprays here. The formula is described as killing wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets on contact and eliminating nests, with a non-staining claim for most home sidings that may matter around exterior walls. Compared with the single-can SpectracidePRO, this pack emphasizes supply and reach rather than a stated four-week residual effect. It is still outdoor-only and should not be used on evergreen or holly plants, so buyers treating those areas—or needing just one can—should look elsewhere.
Pros:- 12-pack provides multiple cans for separate outdoor treatments.
- Jet spray reaches nests up to 27 feet.
- Targets wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets on contact.
- Described as non-staining on most home sidings.
Cons:- Not recommended for use on evergreen and holly plants.
- Outdoor use only; unsuitable for indoor infestations.
- Pack size may be excessive for someone treating one nest.
Best for: Property owners or maintenance teams who need several outdoor-use cans and want a longer stated spray range than the Raid options.
Not ideal for: People treating evergreen or holly plants, seeking indoor control, or needing only a single can.
- Brand:Spectracide
- Pack count:12
- Can size:18.5 ounces
- Form:Aerosol
- Target species:Wasps, hornets, yellow jackets
- Spray range:Up to 27 feet
- Surface claim:Non-staining on most home sidings
- Use:Outdoor
Our verdict“Choose this Spectracide pack for repeated outdoor treatments where its 27-foot reach and multiple cans are more useful than a single-can residual-control claim.”
SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray, 18 Oz
SpectracidePRO stands apart for buyers who want more than immediate knockdown: its description states that it kills returning insects for up to four weeks. That defined residual period is more specific than the general residual-action claim on the 17.5-ounce Raid, making this a stronger fit when lingering activity is the concern. It is an outdoor aerosol for wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, and mud daubers, with a 20-foot jet spray and nest-elimination intent. The reach is shorter than the 22-foot Raid sprays and the 27-foot Spectracide 12-pack, so I would not rank it first for maximum distance. Its single 18-ounce can also lacks the multi-can supply of that pack. Choose it for the stated control duration, while following the product label and keeping the required distance during application.
Pros:- States control of returning insects for up to four weeks.
- Designed for fast knockdown and nest elimination.
- Targets wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, and mud daubers.
- Jet spray reaches nests up to 20 feet away.
Cons:- 20-foot range is shorter than the ranges listed for the Raid and 12-pack Spectracide options.
- Outdoor use only.
- Single-can format may not suit repeated treatments across a large property.
Best for: Homeowners treating an outdoor nest who value a stated residual-control period for returning wasps and related pests.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing the longest spray range, multiple cans, or indoor pest control.
- Brand:SpectracidePRO
- Unit count:1
- Liquid volume:18 fluid ounces
- Item weight:1.5 pounds
- Target species:Wasps, hornets, yellow jackets, mud daubers
- Spray range:Up to 20 feet
- Stated residual control:Up to 4 weeks
- EPA specification:EPA specification met
Our verdict“Choose SpectracidePRO if a stated residual period matters more than maximum spray distance or a multi-can supply.”
Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 16.5 oz
Raid Max is the lineup’s foam-focused option: the product description says its foaming formula traps and eliminates bugs at the source, making it a different approach from the long-reaching aerosol jets in Spectracide’s 12-pack and the standard Raid sprays. That distinction may appeal to homeowners who want foam coverage at a nest rather than choosing primarily by maximum distance. The listed volume is 16.5 ounces, but no spray range, active ingredients, or residual duration is supplied here, so I would not assume it matches the 22-foot Raid or SpectracidePRO’s four-week control. The description also calls for precise application in the morning or evening and limits use to outdoors. Choose this for its foam format, not when documented reach or a stated period of returning-pest control is the deciding factor.
Pros:- Foam is described as trapping and eliminating insects at the source.
- Designed to kill wasps, hornets, and nests on contact.
- Outdoor-use format suits nest treatment around the home and yard.
Cons:- No spray range is provided, unlike the 20- to 27-foot figures listed for other options.
- No residual-control duration is specified.
- Description calls for precise application in the morning or evening.
Best for: Homeowners who prefer a foaming spray for treating an outdoor wasp or hornet nest at the source.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a documented long spray range, a stated residual-control duration, or indoor pest treatment.
- Brand:Raid Max
- Volume:16.5 ounces
- Form:Foaming spray
- Target pests:Wasps and hornets
- Claimed action:Kills insects and nests on contact
- Use:Outdoor
Our verdict“Choose Raid Max for its foam-based nest coverage, but pick a long-range aerosol if distance is your main concern.”
Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer, 14 Ounces, 3 Pack
I’d choose this three-can pack when nest treatment is the priority: its foaming formula is designed to reach into nest openings, while the spray extends up to 27 feet. That added reach exceeds the 22-foot range listed for Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer, 14oz, 2 Count, which may matter when keeping distance from stinging insects. The water-based formula is described as non-staining and leaves no oily residue, a practical advantage near outdoor surfaces. The tradeoff is a narrower use case: it is for outdoor spot treatments, and nest removal requires waiting at least 24 hours. Compared with the five-can Raid foam pack, this gives you fewer cans, so it suits occasional jobs better than repeated treatments.
Pros:- Foaming formula is suited to treating nest openings
- Spray reaches up to 27 feet
- Water-based formula is described as non-staining and leaves no oily residue
- Targets wasps, hornets, and yellowjackets on contact
Cons:- Limited to outdoor spot treatments
- Requires waiting at least 24 hours before nest removal
- Three cans offer less supply than the five-can Raid foam pack
Best for: Homeowners who want a foaming outdoor nest treatment with extended spray reach and a non-oily formula.
Not ideal for: People needing indoor pest control or a large supply for frequent treatments; this is limited to outdoor spot use and has three cans.
- Volume per can:14 ounces
- Pack count:3
- Formula:Foaming, water-based
- Maximum spray range:Up to 27 feet
- Target insects:Wasps, hornets, and yellowjackets
- Application:Outdoor spot treatments
- Residue:No oily residue; described as non-staining
- Nest removal wait:At least 24 hours
Our verdict“Choose this pack for long-reach foaming treatment of outdoor nests when a non-oily formula matters more than having the largest can supply.”
Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer, Outdoor Flying Insect Spray, 14oz, 2 Count
This two-can Raid pack is a straightforward choice for buyers who want a conventional contact-kill spray for outdoor nests and flying stinging insects. It targets wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets, with a listed reach of up to 22 feet. That is shorter than the 27-foot reach of Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer, so I’d favor Spectracide where extra distance or foam is the deciding factor. Raid’s two 14-ounce cans make sense for a smaller number of treatments, while the five-can Raid foam pack is better suited to keeping more product on hand. Its outdoor-only use and chemical active ingredients call for careful handling; it is not a broad-use indoor insect spray.
Pros:- Kills wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets on contact
- Sprays up to 22 feet for application from a distance
- Two 14-ounce cans provide a spare for another treatment
- Active ingredients are specified as prallethrin and cypermethrin
Cons:- Designed for outdoor use only
- Its 22-foot reach is shorter than the 27-foot Spectracide foaming option
- Chemical insecticides require careful use and handling
Best for: Homeowners who need a familiar, two-can outdoor spray for occasional treatment of wasps, hornets, or yellow jackets.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need foam for nest openings, a longer spray reach, indoor use, or enough cans for repeated treatments.
- Brand:Raid
- Pack contents:2 cans
- Volume per can:14 ounces
- Total liquid volume:28 fluid ounces
- Maximum spray range:Up to 22 feet
- Active ingredients:Prallethrin and cypermethrin
- Target insects:Wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets
- Application:Outdoor use
Our verdict“Pick this Raid two-pack for occasional outdoor contact treatment, but choose the Spectracide foam option if you want greater listed reach and foam.”
BASF PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticide, 14 oz
BASF PT Wasp-Freeze stands apart from the Raid and Spectracide options here by listing spiders alongside wasps, hornets, and yellowjackets. That makes it a more specialized pick for someone addressing more than one of those pests, rather than a simple can for routine outdoor nest treatment. Its claimed instant knockdown is the main distinction, but the stated reach is only 15 feet—well short of the 22 feet for Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 13 oz and the 27 feet for the Spectracide foam. The shorter reach may limit how far away a user can stand during application. The description lists indoor and outdoor use, but also warns of possible staining on asphalt and shingles and moderate eye irritation, so surface choice and careful handling matter.
Pros:- Listed for wasps, hornets, yellowjackets, and spiders
- Described as providing instant pest knockdown
- 15-foot reach allows application from a distance
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
Cons:- 15-foot reach is shorter than the Raid and Spectracide options in this group
- May stain asphalt and shingles
- Chemical handling precautions are needed, including care to avoid eye exposure
Best for: Buyers seeking one spray listed for wasps, hornets, yellowjackets, and spiders who can work within a 15-foot spray range.
Not ideal for: People treating nests high or far from their position, or anyone spraying near asphalt or shingles where staining is a concern.
- Brand:BASF
- Product:PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticide
- Volume:14 ounces
- Pack contents:1 bottle
- Part number:31330
- Model number:31330
- Maximum reach:Up to 15 feet
- Target pests:Wasps, hornets, yellowjackets, and spiders
- Application:Indoor and outdoor
Our verdict“Choose BASF PT Wasp-Freeze when spider coverage and quick knockdown matter more than long spray reach or use near stain-sensitive surfaces.”
Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 13 oz
The standout detail on this 13-ounce Raid can is its listed electrical non-conductivity, rated at 32,500 volts. That may make it a relevant option for outdoor treatments near electrical equipment, where the product label and surrounding conditions still need careful attention. It also targets mud daubers alongside wasps, hornets, and yellow jackets, and its 22-foot reach matches the two-can Raid spray. Compared with Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer, this Raid is not described as foaming and has a shorter reach, but it offers a distinct electrical specification. The tradeoffs are its 13-ounce single can and outdoor-only use; buyers planning multiple treatments may prefer one of the multi-can packs in this roundup.
Pros:- Listed as electrically non-conducting up to 32,500 volts
- Targets hornets, mud daubers, wasps, and yellow jackets
- Sprays up to 22 feet
- Described as capable of killing entire nests on contact
Cons:- Single 13-ounce can provides less supply than the multi-can packs
- For outdoor use only
- Contains chemicals that require careful handling
Best for: People treating outdoor wasp or hornet activity near electrical equipment who want a product with a stated non-conducting voltage rating.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a multi-can supply, foam for nest openings, or a spray with more than 22 feet of reach.
- Brand:Raid
- Volume:13 ounces
- Maximum spray range:Up to 22 feet
- Target insects:Hornets, mud daubers, wasps, and yellow jackets
- Application:Outdoor use
- Action:Contact kill; described as able to eliminate entire nests
Our verdict“Consider this single-can Raid for outdoor treatments where its stated electrical non-conductivity is the main deciding feature.”
Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spray 14 oz (Pack of 5)
If repeated outdoor nest treatments are likely, this five-can Raid pack offers the largest stated supply among these five products. Its fast-acting foam is described as reaching into cracks and crevices, giving it a different application emphasis from the standard Raid sprays, including the 13-ounce single can. Compared with the three-can Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer, it includes two additional cans, while Spectracide lists a specific 27-foot reach and a non-staining, water-based formula that this product data does not confirm for Raid. This pack is also limited to outdoor use, and aerosol misuse is a safety concern. The supplied description does not state an exact spray distance, so buyers who need a listed range may prefer Spectracide.
Pros:- Five 14-ounce cans provide the largest stated pack quantity in this group
- Foam is described as reaching into cracks and crevices
- Designed for outdoor wasp and hornet nest treatment
- Long-range application is described for treatment from a distance
Cons:- Limited to outdoor use
- The supplied product data does not specify an exact spray range
- Aerosol spray can be harmful if misused
Best for: Homeowners or property caretakers expecting repeated outdoor nest treatments and wanting five foam cans available.
Not ideal for: People needing indoor use, a single can for occasional spot work, or a clearly stated spray-distance specification.
- Brand:Raid
- Volume per can:14 ounces
- Pack quantity:5 cans
- Total stated volume:70 ounces
- Spray type:Foam
- Application:Outdoor use
- Target pests:Wasps and hornets
- Application reach:Long-range spray; exact distance not specified
Our verdict“Choose this Raid foam pack when you expect several outdoor treatments and value having five cans more than a stated spray-distance figure.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listed products on intended use, spray format, can size and pack configuration. I gave more weight to clear fit for common household wasp and hornet needs than to bundle size alone; a 12-pack is not automatically a better choice than a single can if the buyer only needs one treatment. Foam products were judged as a distinct format, and the carpenter bee and ground-nesting yellowjacket product was assessed for its narrower pest and site focus rather than treated as interchangeable with every general aerosol.
The order reflects versatility first, then specialization and purchasing fit. General-use products rank higher when their listed name and format suggest a wider role in this roundup; purpose-specific, professional-use, and unusually large multipack options rank for buyers with those particular needs. Product names alone cannot establish kill speed, spray distance, residual performance, or application safety, so I do not make unsupported performance claims. I recommend checking each current label for target pests, application directions, use restrictions and required precautions before buying or applying any pesticide.
| wasp spray killer | Use |
|---|---|
| Spectracide Carpenter Bee & Gr | Indoor and outdoor |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spra | Outdoor |
| Spectracide Wasp and Hornet Ki | Outdoor |
| Hot Shot Wasp & Hornet Killer | Outdoor |
| Wondercide Wasp and Hornet Kil | Outdoor areas, including porches, patios, and decks |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug | Outdoor |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Sp | — |
| Spectracide Wasp & Hornet Kill | Outdoor |
| SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet K | — |
| Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet | Outdoor |
| Spectracide Foaming Wasp & Hor | — |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer | — |
| BASF PT Wasp-Freeze Insecticid | — |
| Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Sp | — |
| Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Spra | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Wasp Spray Killer
Before choosing a can, match the product to the pest and site rather than relying on broad claims or pack count. These buying factors help narrow the field beyond the product-by-product rankings.
Match the label to the insect and nest location
Wasp, hornet, yellowjacket and carpenter bee products are not necessarily interchangeable, even when their names sound similar. Start by identifying the insect as accurately as you can from a safe distance and note whether the nest is exposed, enclosed, in the ground or in wood. A spray intended for one pest or setting may not be labeled for another. Avoid treating an uncertain nest based only on a product name; verify the listed target and application site on the label. If the nest is inside a wall, near a doorway, or in another hard-to-reach place, a professional may be a safer choice than improvising with an aerosol.
Choose foam or a standard aerosol for the actual site
Foam and conventional aerosol formats can behave differently at the point of application, so choose based on the labeled target and where the nest sits. Buyers may prefer foam when visible coverage is useful for their intended application, while a standard aerosol may better suit a different access pattern. Do not assume foam reaches deeper into every cavity or that a conventional spray is suitable for every enclosed space. Check the product label for approved application sites and directions rather than judging by the nozzle or format alone. A mismatch between format and nest location can waste product and increase exposure risk.
Treat can size and bundle size as separate decisions
The lineup includes cans from 10 to 20 ounces and bundles ranging from one can to 12, so compare both quantities. A bigger can may reduce the chance of running short during a labeled application, but it does not mean the product is more effective. A multipack can be practical for planned needs across several locations, yet storing excess pesticide creates extra responsibility. Read storage and disposal directions, and keep products in their original containers away from children and pets. Buy for a realistic need instead of treating the largest pack as the best value by default.
Check label directions before prioritizing spray reach
Reach claims and nozzle details can influence a decision, but the product label should govern how and where the spray is used. Do not stand closer to an active nest than the directions allow or assume a longer spray range makes treatment risk-free. Wind, nearby people, pets, windows and outdoor air intakes can affect whether application is appropriate. Choose a time and location that follow the label, and keep a clear retreat route. If you cannot follow the directions safely, skip DIY treatment and contact a pest professional.
Account for people, pets and the surrounding environment
Pesticide precautions can shape the purchase as much as the product format. Read the full label for protective equipment, re-entry guidance, and restrictions near food, water, plants or occupied areas. A product described as professional-use or as a particular type of formula is not automatically safer for home use. Keep children and pets away according to the label, and do not apply around pollinators or other non-target insects unless the directions specifically permit the use. If your household cannot follow the precautions, choose a different approach or hire a professional.
Know when a spray is the wrong tool
Aerosol sprays are not a universal solution for every nest or infestation. A nest inside a structure, a large or inaccessible colony, or repeated activity after treatment may call for professional inspection rather than another can. Some buyers focus on killing visible insects and overlook the source, which can leave the underlying problem unresolved. Check whether the label covers the nest type and site, and follow its instructions about reapplication instead of spraying more often than directed. If you are allergic to stings or the area is difficult to leave quickly, avoid direct treatment and seek qualified help.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a foaming wasp spray or a standard aerosol?
Choose by the labeled application site and the kind of coverage you need, not by assuming one format is always stronger. The roundup includes both foaming products and conventional aerosols, but a product’s format alone does not establish its reach or effectiveness. Read the directions to confirm the target insect and nest location are covered. If the nest is concealed or in a structure, do not guess that foam will solve the access problem. Consider professional treatment when you cannot apply the product from a safe position.
Is a multipack a better buy than one can?
A multipack is useful when you have a specific, label-compliant need for more than one can, but pack size does not tell you how well a spray performs. This lineup ranges from single cans to a 12-pack, with several smaller bundles in between. Compare the amount per can and your actual expected use before choosing a bundle. Also account for safe storage and disposal of any unused pesticide. If you only need one treatment, a large pack may add unnecessary storage obligations.
Can I use a general wasp spray on a ground nest or carpenter bees?
Do not assume that a general wasp and hornet spray is labeled for ground nests or carpenter bees. The lineup includes a product specifically named for carpenter bees and ground-nesting yellowjackets, which signals a more specialized intended use than the general aerosols. Confirm the exact pest and application site on the current product label before use. If you cannot identify the insect or the nest location safely, avoid applying a product based on appearance alone. A pest professional can help with uncertain or hard-to-reach nests.
When should I skip DIY spray and call a professional?
Professional help is the safer choice when a nest is inside a wall or roof, is difficult to reach, or sits where you cannot follow the label directions safely. Avoid DIY treatment if you have a serious sting allergy or cannot keep other people and pets away as directed. Repeated activity after a labeled application is another reason to seek an inspection rather than applying extra spray. Professionals can assess whether the nest location needs a different treatment approach. Never use an aerosol in a way the label does not allow.
Does a larger can mean more effective nest control?
No. The listed can sizes range from 10 to 20 ounces, but size alone does not establish kill speed, reach or suitability for a particular nest. A larger can may provide more product, while the label, formula and application fit determine whether it is appropriate for your situation. Compare the target pests, approved sites and directions before focusing on ounces. Also distinguish can size from pack count, since a bundle can contain several smaller cans. Buy the format and quantity that match the labeled task rather than treating volume as a performance rating.
Conclusion
For a broad household starting point, I recommend Raid Wasp & Hornet Killer Bug Spray, 17.5 oz as best overall, while Spectracide Wasp and Hornet Killer Aerosol, 20-Ounce, 3-Pack is my best value pick for buyers who want multiple cans in a moderate bundle. Shoppers seeking a professional-use option should compare SpectracidePRO Wasp & Hornet Killer as the best premium-style choice, while beginners may prefer a single can such as Raid Wasp and Hornet Killer Spray, 14 oz rather than committing to a large multipack. For foam, compare Raid Max Foaming Wasp & Hornet Killer with Spectracide’s foaming options; for carpenter bees or ground-nesting yellowjackets, start with the specifically named Spectracide product. My final choice would depend on the label match, nest location and your ability to apply the product safely—not on bundle size alone.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















